arcHELI V8 Blackhawk

  • February 19, 2018, 11:04:05 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic:  Scarab setup with naza lite  (Read 612 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

pete05

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2040
Scarab setup with naza lite
« on: April 23, 2017, 06:48:28 PM »

I recently purchased a used scarab armour with a naza m lite, I have issue with the setup, I have follow all the setup on the assistant and it seems to have an issue when I try and climb out at any decent speed it seems to wobble quite bad, I have all the gains set to default, I am not sure what I should be adjusting to settle it in a climb.
Logged

    savage600

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 6929
    • Liked: 1
    • Likes Given: 2
    Scarab setup with naza lite
    « Reply #1 on: April 23, 2017, 08:40:03 PM »

    Sounds like one of the pid settings is out. I'll try and find a sheet that has some info on it and post it for you.

    Cheers Dave.
    Logged
      Compas 7HV, Stretched Synergy E5, Gaui X5 Formula, Turnigy, H550 Hex, Qav 250 racing Quad, Blade Nano QX, Blade Inductrix and a couple of 1/10 cars.

      savage600

      • Hero Member
      • *****
      • Offline Offline
      • Posts: 6929
      • Liked: 1
      • Likes Given: 2
      Scarab setup with naza lite
      « Reply #2 on: April 23, 2017, 08:49:14 PM »

      http://iflyquad.com/2016/01/05/depth-pid-tuning-guide/

      Have a look at this link Pete.

      It is a flow chart of pid adjustment and if something does or doesn't do a certain thing, then there are avenues to follow and adjust.

      Cheers Dave.
      Logged
        Compas 7HV, Stretched Synergy E5, Gaui X5 Formula, Turnigy, H550 Hex, Qav 250 racing Quad, Blade Nano QX, Blade Inductrix and a couple of 1/10 cars.

        TomC

        • Hero Member
        • *****
        • Offline Offline
        • Posts: 2469
        • Location: Gold Coast, Qld
        • Club: GCMFC
        • Liked: 4
        • Likes Given: 36
        Scarab setup with naza lite
        « Reply #3 on: April 23, 2017, 08:58:00 PM »

        I have 2x naza lites and if I hit the throttle hard in manual mode they both tend to tilt a bit. If I apply throttle smoothly this does not happen.

        In Atti or Atti-gps this does not happen no matter how hard I hit the throttle stick. If it wobbles in either of these modes you should reduce the roll and pitch gains a little at a time (10-15%) until it stops.

        So for me, lesson learnt, is to apply throttle smoothly in manual mode (which is the mode I prefer to fly it in most of the time). No big deal imho.

        It is a good idea to balance your props to help minimise vibs and allow for higher gains to be used.  Also, check that all your motors are lined up square to the frames.

        Hope this helps.

        Cheers,
        TomC
        Logged
          Lots of Blade Heli's, TT X50E, Ion-x, HC/BD3sx on most
          Lots of E-Planks, multi's, now into FPV, MAAA Gold Wings, Heli's and Planes

          TomC

          • Hero Member
          • *****
          • Offline Offline
          • Posts: 2469
          • Location: Gold Coast, Qld
          • Club: GCMFC
          • Liked: 4
          • Likes Given: 36
          Scarab setup with naza lite
          « Reply #4 on: April 23, 2017, 09:02:36 PM »

          Quote from: savage600;1622176
          http://iflyquad.com/2016/01/05/depth-pid-tuning-guide/

          Have a look at this link Pete.

          It is a flow chart of pid adjustment and if something does or doesn't do a certain thing, then there are avenues to follow and adjust.

          Cheers Dave.

          Dave, the naza lite (unlike other flight controllers) does not have pid adjustments, just basic gain %'s for each axis.
          Logged
            Lots of Blade Heli's, TT X50E, Ion-x, HC/BD3sx on most
            Lots of E-Planks, multi's, now into FPV, MAAA Gold Wings, Heli's and Planes

            pete05

            • Hero Member
            • *****
            • Offline Offline
            • Posts: 2040
            Scarab setup with naza lite
            « Reply #5 on: April 23, 2017, 09:08:37 PM »

            Thanks for the link Dave, I will have a read.

            Tom I will look at prop balance, what are good quality props to use?
            Also you mention motors being square to the frame, in the scarab manual it says to put the motors on a 5 degree tilt, is this not a good idea?
            Logged

              TomC

              • Hero Member
              • *****
              • Offline Offline
              • Posts: 2469
              • Location: Gold Coast, Qld
              • Club: GCMFC
              • Liked: 4
              • Likes Given: 36
              Scarab setup with naza lite
              « Reply #6 on: April 23, 2017, 09:14:28 PM »

              Lots of diff prop options but the main thing is to make sure that they are properly balanced.  I'm not really sure but I don't think that the naza lite is going to be very happy with motor tilt.  I would probably try them without any tilt to begin with.
              Logged
                Lots of Blade Heli's, TT X50E, Ion-x, HC/BD3sx on most
                Lots of E-Planks, multi's, now into FPV, MAAA Gold Wings, Heli's and Planes

                pete05

                • Hero Member
                • *****
                • Offline Offline
                • Posts: 2040
                Scarab setup with naza lite
                « Reply #7 on: April 23, 2017, 09:23:14 PM »

                Thanks, I will get the motors square and put the props on my balancer, I think the props are hk but not totally sure as they came with it.
                Logged

                  pete05

                  • Hero Member
                  • *****
                  • Offline Offline
                  • Posts: 2040
                  Scarab setup with naza lite
                  « Reply #8 on: April 26, 2017, 05:41:55 PM »

                  Ok so I have recalibrated the esc, checked prop balance and also squared up the motors, I did a compass cal on it to which worked first time.
                  One thing which maybe an issue is when I did an IMU calibration z axis on the acceleration will not zero out, I tried several times with no luck.
                  Logged

                    TomC

                    • Hero Member
                    • *****
                    • Offline Offline
                    • Posts: 2469
                    • Location: Gold Coast, Qld
                    • Club: GCMFC
                    • Liked: 4
                    • Likes Given: 36
                    Scarab setup with naza lite
                    « Reply #9 on: April 26, 2017, 07:21:20 PM »

                    As long as the IMU calibration is close to zero (yours do not look too bad, maybe Z is a little off?) I find that this is ok.  Maybe try another IMU recalibration to see if you can get your Z a bit lower. Also good to do another compass calibration after this and make sure you do this out in wide open spaces, well away from everything as possible.  Also, make sure you do not have keys, anything metallic, and/or a phone on you when you do this.
                    Logged
                      Lots of Blade Heli's, TT X50E, Ion-x, HC/BD3sx on most
                      Lots of E-Planks, multi's, now into FPV, MAAA Gold Wings, Heli's and Planes

                      brw0513

                      • Hero Member
                      • *****
                      • Offline Offline
                      • Posts: 2638
                      • Liked: 4
                      • Likes Given: 2
                      Scarab setup with naza lite
                      « Reply #10 on: April 27, 2017, 10:08:15 AM »

                      I'm clueless really, but should the Z acceleration value be -1.0g?
                      Logged
                        Ian B.

                        TomC

                        • Hero Member
                        • *****
                        • Offline Offline
                        • Posts: 2469
                        • Location: Gold Coast, Qld
                        • Club: GCMFC
                        • Liked: 4
                        • Likes Given: 36
                        Scarab setup with naza lite
                        « Reply #11 on: April 27, 2017, 01:02:58 PM »

                        Well, here's a clue from the Naza m lite manual;

                        Tips:
                        - IMU works normally if the value of X, Y and Z is between [-1.5,1.5].
                        - IMU works normally if the sum of the squares of X, Y and Z is around 1.

                        I believe this is for the acceleration component.  Usually after you run the IMU calibration the program will tell you if you need to do anything.
                        Logged
                          Lots of Blade Heli's, TT X50E, Ion-x, HC/BD3sx on most
                          Lots of E-Planks, multi's, now into FPV, MAAA Gold Wings, Heli's and Planes

                          pete05

                          • Hero Member
                          • *****
                          • Offline Offline
                          • Posts: 2040
                          Scarab setup with naza lite
                          « Reply #12 on: April 27, 2017, 08:28:19 PM »

                          Yeah even after I run a calibration and then do a calibration check again it says in needs calibrating again.

                          I a a V4 paris setup I have never used, are these better than naza?
                          Logged

                            TomC

                            • Hero Member
                            • *****
                            • Offline Offline
                            • Posts: 2469
                            • Location: Gold Coast, Qld
                            • Club: GCMFC
                            • Liked: 4
                            • Likes Given: 36
                            Scarab setup with naza lite
                            « Reply #13 on: April 28, 2017, 03:30:34 AM »

                            Try running the IMU calibration a few more times.  If it still tells you that another calibration is necessary then you probably have a damaged naza lite fc.  Since you bought it used it may have been damaged by the previous owner or damaged during shipping, who knows?

                            Don't know about the v4 Paris unit because I've never used one.  The naza lite is the only full autopilot with rtl that I have used on quads and both of mine on 400-450 sized quads work very well.
                            Logged
                              Lots of Blade Heli's, TT X50E, Ion-x, HC/BD3sx on most
                              Lots of E-Planks, multi's, now into FPV, MAAA Gold Wings, Heli's and Planes

                              savage600

                              • Hero Member
                              • *****
                              • Offline Offline
                              • Posts: 6929
                              • Liked: 1
                              • Likes Given: 2
                              Scarab setup with naza lite
                              « Reply #14 on: April 28, 2017, 04:16:33 PM »

                              Hey Pete, I have been using apm units ( although an older unit) they are awesome, with a lot of features, RTL, way points etc and can be flown from a tablet, laptop, Android device etc.

                              Maybe something else to think about?.

                              Cheers Dave.

                              Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk
                              Logged
                                Compas 7HV, Stretched Synergy E5, Gaui X5 Formula, Turnigy, H550 Hex, Qav 250 racing Quad, Blade Nano QX, Blade Inductrix and a couple of 1/10 cars.
                                Pages: [1] 2   Go Up